Evernote For Goal Setting

Yes, I’m an Evernote geek and use it for a variety of reasons, like GTD, minutes via Kustomnote, projects, brainfarts, and more. Even when I’m driving, I have a notepad next to me to jot down thoughts. Best part is trying to decipher what I scrawled while keeping my eyes on the road. Evernote needs to work harder with character recognition for that stuff 😉

Once I get done driving, I’ll log in my notes whether via text or photo, and save with the appropriate context and notebook for action or future review. While the processing isn’t always easy, I strive to do a good job of daily and weekly review.

Especially with the current job search, I’m heavily leveraging Evernote for job postings, notes, conversations, action items, follow-ups, and more. I started off with making sure that I had at least 10 new contacts daily via Lift, now as I’m in a more mature search, I’m working the list in Evernote more and reaching out to contacts. This exercise has been very good to keep me focused on getting things done, instead of just being busy, so I can play the part of father, husband and friend.

Evernote For Goal Setting

Back to goals, above is a snapshot of a note for future review for goals. I’ll file stuff like this away in ticklers for quarterly and annual review. With my daily Lift check-ins I work to be better in these areas. Am I perfect, hell no, but I make a valid attempt to keep focused especially with cooking with the family, being thankful, spending quality time with the kids, and more. One of the areas I decided needed a cut over the holiday was my social media time. While I classify much of it as “reading,” I wasn’t getting to my goal of reading 30 minutes a day. So now I’m working to limit my online time, and spend more time finishing the stack of books by my bed and on my Kindle. We’ll see how that goes 😉

What do I find most interesting about this snapshot? It isn’t mine. It is my dad’s from over a decade ago. Some things never change.

Leave a comment